The Canadian Underwater Conference & Exhibition
Lifetime Achievement and Technical Excellence Awards

The Canadian Underwater Conference Committee hosted its first conference in 2008. That year we were pleased to present two awards: the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Technical Excellence Award. These awards are intended to recognize and honour individuals whose dedication and accomplishments have significantly contributed to the Canadian underwater industry.

Subsequently it was decided that only one award would be presented per year; the pictures below show the winners in past years.

At the 2017 conference, which was held in Ottawa, Ontario we were pleased to honour Jim Garrington who founded Shark Marine Technologies in 1984 and contributed numerous technological advances to occupational diving in the years since.

At the 2018 conference, to be held in Vancouver, BC we shall again present the Lifetime Achievement Award. Nominations will close on January 31, 2018.

Please access a nomination form HERE


Jim Garrington of Shark Marine Technologies received the 2017 Technical Excellence Award

Mrs Jim Ritcy receives Jim's posthumous 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award

Steve Duffy receives the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Ron Nishi receives the 2014 Technical Excellence Award

Doug Elsey receives the 2012 Lifetime Achievement

James MacFarlane (l) receives the 2011 Technical Excellence Award

Bob and Sheri Landry with the 2010

Lifetime Achievement Award

David Fullerton (r) received the 2009 Technical Excellence Award

Jim Wilson, 2008 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award Lifetime Achievement and Technical Excellence Awards created for DCBC by Nova Scotian Crystal Phil Nuytten (l) recipient of the 2008 Technical Excellence Award